top of page
  • Tyler

What I've Accomplished This Summer

Updated: Sep 26, 2019

My goal this summer was to develop a novel machine learning approach to streamflow prediction. Previous work has explored machine learning approaches to this task but they tend to use off-the-shelf methods that fail to account for the special characteristics of streamflow data. In particular, they fail to model the spatio-temporal relationships that exist within streamflow data. My plan was to develop a novel architecture using graph networks to model spatial and temporal relationships within the data. What distinguishes my work from previous work applying graph networks to spatio-temporal data is that streamflow data is heterogeneous in ways that previously studied datasets are not (i.e. different locations measure different phenomena).


With the help of Leo, I've gathered and pre-processed the data. I've also developed several simplified versions of my proposed architecture and run them on the streamflow data alone. Experiments suggest that incorporating spatio-temporal relationships into streamflow predictions is useful. I've also implemented a more complete version of my architecture that can incorporate precipitation and snow melt into predictions but this architecture is still being debugged. I hope to complete this project and submit it to a data mining conference in the Fall.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Blog Post

While in China I did my best to dive into Chinese culture and develop an understanding of Chinese values. Though I am by no means an expert I left with a few takeaways a few of which I'll attempt to s

Research Update

I've spent the past several days getting relatively simple machine learning models running on the stream flow data. We've processed data from several sources that includes stream flow, precipitation,

Trip to Beijing

Our trip to Beijing was wonderful and exhausting. Over the past few weeks I've been listening to a series of lectures about the history of China over the course of 19th and 20th centuries and was plea

bottom of page